JUST IN! Akpabio Elected As Senate President, Nominates Jibrin As Deputy Senate President


Nigerian lawmaker, Godswill Akpabio has emerged as the Senate President for the 10th National Assembly.

He emerged after getting the highest number of votes from his colleagues.

In the election conducted this morning inside the senate chamber, Akpabio defeated Abdulaziz Yari who was the only candidate to contest against him. Godswill Akpabio polled a total number of 63 votes and Yari polled 46 votes. 

Meanwhile, Jibrin Barau, the senator-elect representing Kano South, has emerged as the Senate Deputy President unopposed.

His emergence followed his nomination by the former Governor of Ebonyi State, David Umahi while the member-elect (Kwara North), Salisu Mustapha, also supported the nomination.

Barau accepted the nomination and emerged as the Deputy Senate President of the 10th Assembly unopposed.

Godswill Akpabio and Barau Jibrin after their swearing-in will lead the 10th National Assembly with immediate effect. 

Post a Comment