Kane Beats Messi, Ronaldo To 2017 All-time Goal Scoring Record

Talented Tottenham Hotspur striker, Harry Kane has broken Alan Shearer’s 22-year record for most goals scored in a calendar year and has also now scored more times in 2017 than both Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo.
Alan Shearer has congratulated Harry Kane on breaking his calendar year goalscoring record, but has also warned that Tottenham he could be doing the same for Barcelona or Real Madrid one day.

England forward Kane equalled Shearer’s long-standing record after registering a hat-trick away at high-flying Burnley last week.
Kane broke Alan Shearer’s record after scoring a hat-trick against Southampton on Boxing Day, and Kane only needed 22 minutes against Southampton to break it, heading home Christian Eriksen’s pinpoint free-kick from close range to score his 37th Premier League goal.
Writing in his column in The Sun Shearer said, “I was delighted to see Harry Kane beat my Premier League record for goals in a calendar year.”
“It had taken long enough to be broken, 22 years. But if I wanted anyone to overhaul my total it would be a young English striker.”
“Not only has he beaten my calendar-year record in the Premier League, but with his second successive hat-trick yesterday he eclipsed Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldofor goals in all competitions in 2017 for club and country — 57.”
However he cautioned Spurs over Kane attracting suitors from La Liga saying, “That is some company to be in but, believe me, he could score goals for Barcelona and Real Madrid as well. There lies the problem for Spurs going forward, of course.”
Spurs fans will recall losing Gareth Bale to the Bernabeu moneybags and with the giants from Madrid looking to reclaim their number one spot in Spain, after a humiliating 3-0 home defeat by bitter rivals Barcelona fans of the North London club could be bracing themselves for a huge bid for Kane.
For now, however he tops the charts, sitting ahead of Shearer, who netted 36 times in Blackburn Rovers’ title winning season in 1995, Robin van Persie, (35 goals in 2011) Theirry Henry, (34 goals in 2004), Ruud van Nistelrooy (30 goals in 2003) and Les Ferdinand (30 goals in 1995).

Post a Comment